Jezebel Article

As an avid reader of Jezebel, I was SUPER SUPER SUPER thrilled to see that they wrote an article about It’s Not Enough!

However, there were some errors, so we decided to send them an email and see what they said:

Hi Jessica,

My name is Clare Austen-Smith, and recently one of your contributors posted an article about a campaign called It’s Not Enough, that me, along with 3 others, started to make Tulane a safer place. I really appreciate the piece, and as an avid reader of Jezebel I was absolutely thrilled to see it! Unfortunately, there are some errors that were in the article. This is not a campaign that I started on my own. My fellow students Eliza Arnold, Lula Fotis, and Elena Pueraro and I started this campaign together and I think that they deserve credit in the article.
I would also like to say that (in response to some of the criticism in the article), we recognize the disparities in safety between our Uptown neighborhood and others in the city. We believe that everyone deserves to be safe. As students, we decided to aim our campaign at Tulane University because that is where we have the most social capital and pull. We believe that this is not just about Tulane students, but about the entire Uptown area. Additionally, our campaign is not calling for more attention by NOPD or hiring increases by TUPD. In our petition, one of our top goals is to simply have more foot and bike patrols, rather than what the author of the Jezebel article supposes. I feel that it is important that our goals are not misrepresented. It is unfortunate that the author refers to us diminutively as “affluent college students who suddenly find that the bubble around their recreational existence has been popped in a city overwhelmed by crime.” None of us have been ignorant of the crime that surrounds us, which is why we started the campaign.
I would like to note that a week or so ago (before your article was published) we decided to take down Matteo Nagelberg’s comments because we felt that they were not completely in line with our message and by keeping them up there we were falsely representing our campaign’s goals and statements.
Anyway, I sincerely am grateful to see this article in Jezebel. Thank you so much for attention!
Best,
Clare Austen-Smith
I also called Jezebel (although the number listed on their about page is just a tip hotline) and left a message asking for a call back. Hopefully they will get in touch with us soon. I know that in past I have seen articles updated and amended, so I am confident that they will be open in responding to us.
-Clare
About It's Not Enough

We are Tulane students who appreciate the effort TUPD gives to protect us, but believe that it is inadequate. Given the amount of assaults, robberies, burglaries and other types of crime that surrounds the Tulane Campus, we need more from TUPD. Simply put, it's not enough.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

